LAQ : Describe ‘Bangabhasha Prakashika Sabha’ and ‘Zamindar Sabha’




Describe ‘Bangabhasha Prakashika Sabha’ and ‘Zamindar Sabha’.


Bangabhasha Prakashika Sabha(1836):

Bangabhasha Prakashika Sabha was formed on 8th December 1836. Kalinath Ray Chowdhury, the zamindar of Taki, Prasanna Kumar Tagore, Dwarkanath Tagore and some followers of Rammohan Roy formed this association. The first meeting of this association was convened under the first presidentship of Gaurishankar Bhattacharya (Tarkabagish). The association vehemently opposed the imposition of taxes on non-taxable land.

The main objectives and activities of Bangabhasa Prakashika Sabha were

  1. to create political consciousness in Bengal for the organisation of a permanent political movement,
  2. to convene a meeting every Thursday to discuss religious, political and philosophical matters,
  3. to oppose the tax on rent-free lands adopted by British Govt.

Jamidar Sabha or Landholders’ Society (1837):

On 12th November 1837, zamindar Radhakanta Deb, Dwarkanath Tagore and Prasanna Kumar Tagore, disciple of Rammohan Roy met at the Hindu College and formed the Jamidar Sabha or Land Holders’ Association. Then its president was Radhakanta Deb and secretary was Prasanna kumar Tagore. In April 1838 the name of zamindari sabha was changed in the ‘Zamindari Association’. The latter name was suggested by Dwarkanath Tagore. At this time Ramkamal Sen and Bhabani Charan Mitra also associated with this society. The orientalist, Rajendra Lal Mitra, said, ‘This society was the pioneer of freedom movement in this country’. He felt that this association looked after the interests of the landlord and tenants alike.

Its main objectives were-

  1. to oppose Regulation III,
  2. to protect the interests of the zamindars of Bengal, Bihar and Orissa,
  3. to bring the British bureaucracy in favour of zamindars,
  4. to spread the Prasanna Kumar Tagore permanent settlement (1793) act over India

Was this answer helpful?

Didn't liked the above answer ?

Text Generation Tool